Snapfishing Granola Mountain

I love this picture of the three oldest boys with their Aunt Maureen. They had the pleasure of riding home from the beach with her!


We had a great trip to the beach; we survived Earl and had many happy moments with the whole family. As my camera is being recharged, I’ll have to wait to put up beach pictures. In the mean time, I had fun signing up for Snapfish tonight. You can see my first little family album if you want! I will never get over how amazing the internet is. Remember the days of sending rolls of film off to the photo lab, hoping some of the pictures were a success…We’ve come a long way, baby!
Tonight I realized the breakfast pickings would be slim in the morning, so I whipped up some granola. I discovered the unfortunate fact that the kids’ favorite cereal (Honey Bunches Of Oats) has High Fructose Corn Syrup in it. So I modified my mother’s recipe for granola, and I made my version of Honey Bunches Of Oats with pecans. Here’s How:
Combine in large mixing bowl:
4 cups of oats
2 cups of wheat flakes (look in the health food store)
2 Cups chopped pecans (raw)
1/2 Cup Flax Seed
1/2 Cup Coconut (shedded or flaked )
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1 dash Nutmeg

Combine in microwave safe bowl:
1/2 Cup Canola oil (I like Spectrum), 1/2 cup honey, 1/4 cup maple syrup, 1 Tablespoon vanilla
Warm mixture in microwave for about one minute. Stir. Pour over the oat mixture and combine until all the oat mixture is coated. Spread out on baking tray and bake at 325 for 40 min. Allow to cool before breaking into pieces and storing. I like to serve this topped with fresh fruit or dried fruit (when fresh is unavailable). Enjoy!!

This coming Monday is our “back to (home) school” day here. We are all yearning for a little more structure and rhythm to our days after the carefree days of Summer. I find that when I take the time to plan, we accomplish so much more than when we allow the days to unfold on their own. Someone once said, “Failing to plan is planning to fail.” I tend to agree. Of course, everything can’t be planned, nor would I want to miss exciting opportunities because they weren’t “planned.” I don’t think I ever to have to fear being too much of a planner!

Every day I feel so blessed to marvel at the beauty that surrounds us:

As much as I am soothed by the ocean, my heart was stirred, coming home to my mountains.

The rolling hills, the green, the gentle light filtering through the trees, the merry breezes are all a balm to my soul. And I feel like All is right with the world, if only for a moment.

About The Smithdeal Family

Homeschooling wife and mother to nine wonderful children
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

